# Speechmatics Speech to Text plans, limits and prices

Speech to text for recorded audio (Melia 1) and live audio over a WebSocket, billed per hour of audio to the second.

- Provider: Speechmatics
- Kinds: Speech-to-text API
- Plans recorded: 2
- Checked: 2026-10-17
- Page for people: https://plans.intoperson.com/p/speechmatics-stt

## Plans

Values that apply to one plan. "Not stated" means the official pages do not say; it is not an estimate.

### Pro pay as you go, pre-recorded (Melia 1 base rate)

Plan id: `speechmatics-prerecorded` · Pay as you go

- Price: $240 per 1,000 audio hours [1][2][3]
- Included: Not recorded
- Extra usage: $240 per 1,000 extra [1][4]
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Transcription of recorded audio: Yes [5]
- Real-time streaming speech: Not stated [6]
- Speaker diarization: Yes [7][8][9]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/speechmatics-prerecorded) (choose the plan on the page)

### Real-time transcription (rate not stated)

Plan id: `speechmatics-streaming` · Pay as you go · Price not published · not in search

- Price: Not stated [10]
- Included: Not recorded
- Extra usage: Not recorded
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Real-time streaming speech: Yes [11]
- Transcription of recorded audio: Not stated [12]
- Speaker diarization: Not stated [13]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/speechmatics-streaming) (choose the plan on the page)

## Applies to every plan

Recorded for the product or the provider; a plan-level value or a listed exception replaces it.

- Data storage or processing region (all products): EU, US, AU [14][15]
- Free allowance: 100 USD credit, once [16][17]

## Collection notes

Pay as you go only: the Pro plan at the Melia 1 pre-recorded base rate of $0.24 an audio hour. The $0.12 an hour headline of the pricing page applies only with both the model-training discount (-33%) and the top-tier annual commitment discount (-25%), so the base rate is the price recorded. Charges are to the exact second. The real-time (streaming) rate is not stated in the page text, so the streaming plan has no price and is not listed. New sign-ups get a one-time $100 credit. No Speechmatics MCP server is described on the pages read. Authentication is by API key.

## Sources and notes

Each number points to the provider's own sentence, as it appears on the page on the date shown.

1. [speechmatics.com/pricing](https://www.speechmatics.com/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> "value":"$0.24","label":"Melia 1 Pre-recorded base rate"

2. How the value follows from the source: $0.24 per audio hour is $240 per 1,000 audio hours.

3. The base rate. The -33% model-training discount and the -25% top-tier annual commitment discount lower it; the $0.12 headline needs both.

4. How the value follows from the source: $0.24 per audio hour.

5. [speechmatics.com/pricing](https://www.speechmatics.com/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Transcribe from audio or video file

6. This price line is for pre-recorded audio; live audio is a separate product whose rate is not stated (see the streaming plan).

7. [speechmatics.com/pricing](https://www.speechmatics.com/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Features Included for free.

8. [speechmatics.com/pricing](https://www.speechmatics.com/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Speaker diarization Language hints

9. Speaker diarization is in the "Included for free" feature list of the pre-recorded product.

10. The pricing page text states no rate for real-time transcription.

11. [docs.speechmatics.com/api-ref/realtime-transcription-websocket.md](https://docs.speechmatics.com/api-ref/realtime-transcription-websocket.md) · official docs · read 2026-10-17

> A basic Realtime session will have the following message exchanges

12. This is the live-audio product; recorded audio is the pre-recorded plan.

13. The feature list does not say which products include speaker diarization in the page text; the per-model check marks are not in it.

14. [speechmatics.com/pricing](https://www.speechmatics.com/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Data processing location choice (EU, US, AUS)

15. The page names the locations EU, US and AUS (Australia).

16. [docs.speechmatics.com/administration/plans.md](https://docs.speechmatics.com/administration/plans.md) · official docs · read 2026-10-17

> New sign-ups receive a $100 credit grant.

17. A one-time credit for a new account, not a monthly allowance.

Check these plans against a workload: https://plans.intoperson.com/guide.md describes the inputs; the REST form is GET https://plans.intoperson.com/api/v1/products/speechmatics-stt.
