# Cartesia Text to Speech API plans, limits and prices

Text to speech over a REST API and a WebSocket, in Free, Pro, Startup and Scale plans metered in credits.

- Provider: Cartesia
- Kinds: Text-to-speech API
- Plans recorded: 4
- Checked: 2026-10-17
- Page for people: https://plans.intoperson.com/p/cartesia-tts

## Plans

Values that apply to one plan. "Not stated" means the official pages do not say; it is not an estimate.

### Free

Plan id: `cartesia-free` · Free plan

- Price: Free [1]
- Included: 20,000 characters every month [1][2][3]
- Extra usage: Not stated [4]
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Commercial use of the generated audio: Not stated [5][6]
- Voice cloning from the buyer's recording: Not stated [5][7]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/cartesia-free) (choose the plan on the page)

### Pro

Plan id: `cartesia-pro` · Subscription

- Price: $5/month [8]
- Included: 100,000 characters per month [8][2][9]
- Extra usage: $0.065 per 1,000 extra [10][2][11][12]
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Commercial use of the generated audio: Yes [5][13]
- Voice cloning from the buyer's recording: Yes [5][14]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/cartesia-pro) (choose the plan on the page)

### Startup

Plan id: `cartesia-startup` · Subscription

- Price: $49/month [15]
- Included: 1,250,000 characters per month [15][2][16]
- Extra usage: $0.045 per 1,000 extra [17][2][11][18]
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Commercial use of the generated audio: Yes [5][19][13]
- Voice cloning from the buyer's recording: Yes [5][19][14]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/cartesia-startup) (choose the plan on the page)

### Scale

Plan id: `cartesia-scale` · Subscription

- Price: $299/month [20]
- Included: 8,000,000 characters per month [20][2][21]
- Extra usage: $0.038 per 1,000 extra [22][2][11][23]
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Commercial use of the generated audio: Yes [5][19][24][13]
- Voice cloning from the buyer's recording: Yes [5][19][24][14]
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/cartesia-scale) (choose the plan on the page)

## Applies to every plan

Recorded for the product or the provider; a plan-level value or a listed exception replaces it.



## Collection notes

Plans are the four self-serve columns of the pricing page (Free, Pro, Startup, Scale); Enterprise is custom. Cartesia meters in credits shared by speech-to-text and text to speech, and one credit is one character of standard text to speech, so the credits are entered as characters. The dollars of voice-agent credit in a plan are not modelled.

## Sources and notes

Each number points to the provider's own sentence, as it appears on the page on the date shown.

1. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Free $0 /mo Start free 20K credits / month

2. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> 1 credit equals 1 character.

3. How the value follows from the source: 20K credits a month at one credit per character.

4. The page says paid users can turn on overages; it does not say what the Free plan does at its limit.

5. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Everything in Free, plus Check Streamline Icon: https://streamlinehq.com Commercial use license Check Streamline Icon: https://streamlinehq.com Instant voice cloning

6. The Free card lists no commercial use license, and the Pro card adds one to Free; no sentence states the Free plan's commercial use.

7. The Free card lists no instant voice cloning, and the Pro card adds it to Free; no sentence states that Free lacks it.

8. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Pro $5 /mo Select Pro 100K credits / month

9. How the value follows from the source: 100K credits a month at one credit per character.

10. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> At pro tier, it's $65 per 1M credits.

11. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Paid users can turn on overages to go negative into their credit balance.

12. How the value follows from the source: $65 per 1M credits is $0.065 per 1,000 credits, one credit per character.

13. The plan card lists a commercial use license as an addition to the plan below it; the Free card does not list one.

14. Instant voice cloning is listed from the Pro card; each card is "Everything in" the one below.

15. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Startup $49 /mo Select Startup 1.25M credits / month

16. How the value follows from the source: 1,250K credits a month at one credit per character.

17. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> At startup tier, it's $45 per 1M credits.

18. How the value follows from the source: $45 per 1M credits is $0.045 per 1,000 credits, one credit per character.

19. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Everything in Pro, plus

20. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Scale $299 /mo Select Scale 8M credits / month

21. How the value follows from the source: 8,000K credits a month at one credit per character.

22. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> At scale tier, it's $38 per 1M credits.

23. How the value follows from the source: $38 per 1M credits is $0.038 per 1,000 credits, one credit per character.

24. [cartesia.ai/pricing](https://www.cartesia.ai/pricing) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Everything in Startup, plus

Check these plans against a workload: https://plans.intoperson.com/guide.md describes the inputs; the REST form is GET https://plans.intoperson.com/api/v1/products/cartesia-tts.
