# Azure AI Speech text to speech plans, limits and prices

Text to speech over the Speech SDK and a REST API, billed per character.

- Provider: Microsoft Azure
- Kinds: Text-to-speech API
- Plans recorded: 2
- Checked: 2026-10-17
- Page for people: https://plans.intoperson.com/p/azure-speech-tts

## Plans

Values that apply to one plan. "Not stated" means the official pages do not say; it is not an estimate.

### Free (F0)

Plan id: `azure-speech-f0` · Free plan · Price not published · not in search

- Price: Not stated [1]
- Included: 500,000 characters every month [2][3]
- Extra usage: Not recorded
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/azure-speech-f0) (choose the plan on the page)

### Standard (S0) pay as you go

Plan id: `azure-speech-s0` · Pay as you go · Price not published · not in search

- Price: Not stated [4][5]
- Included: Not recorded
- Extra usage: Not recorded
- Concurrency: Not recorded
- Rate limit: Not recorded
- Visit: [Pricing page](https://plans.intoperson.com/go/azure-speech-s0) (choose the plan on the page)

## Applies to every plan

Recorded for the product or the provider; a plan-level value or a listed exception replaces it.



## Collection notes

Only the text-to-speech part of Azure AI Speech is entered. The pricing page shows "$-" for every dollar amount (the amounts are filled in by script), so the Standard (S0) pay-as-you-go plan has no price and is not listed. The Free (F0) plan gives 0.5 million Neural characters a month; its dollar price is not stated either. Not entered: voice cloning (Personal voice and Custom voice are limited-access features), commercial use (no sentence found), and whether customer text is used for training (the pages speak about custom-voice training data only). The text of real-time synthesis is not retained.

## Sources and notes

Each number points to the provider's own sentence, as it appears on the page on the date shown.

1. The pricing page text shows the free amount but states no dollar price for the Free (F0) tier.

2. [azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/cognitive-services/speech-services/](https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/cognitive-services/speech-services/) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> Text to Speech (per character billing) Neural 0.5 million characters free per month

3. How the value follows from the source: 0.5 million characters a month is 500,000 characters (Neural voices).

4. [azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/cognitive-services/speech-services/](https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/pricing/details/cognitive-services/speech-services/) · official pricing · read 2026-10-17

> For Text to Speech: usage is billed per character.

5. Every dollar amount on the pricing page is a script-filled "$-" in the page text; the per-character price is not readable.

Check these plans against a workload: https://plans.intoperson.com/guide.md describes the inputs; the REST form is GET https://plans.intoperson.com/api/v1/products/azure-speech-tts.
